Gazpacho: The Perfect Summer Soup!

Who knew Gazpacho was so yummy?!  Who knew it would turn into my favorite summer soup?!  Not me, until now.  When I think “soup,” I think hot, and when it’s hot outside, who wants soup?!  I was requested to make a soup for a recent gathering.  A gathering that took place on a near 100 degree day.  I JUST COULDN’T bear the thought of soup.  As luck would have it, said gathering happened just after this blog went to 35,000 views, and a friend had suggested Gazpacho as a celebration recipe.  I searched for recipes, altered one for things I had on hand, and it turned out GREAT!  No cooking at all!  Look how pretty–wanna bite?

yum3

So simple; a couple of cans and a few fresh things:

ingredients

  • 1 can (14.5 oz) diced tomatoes
  • 1 can (14.5 oz) fire-roasted diced tomatoes with green chilis
  • 1 cucumber, peeled, seeded, cut into small dice
  • 1/2 yellow pepper, seeded, cut into small dice
  • 3 TBSP red onion, minced
  • 1/2 tsp freshly grated lemon zest (just the yellow part–the white part is bitter!)
  • 1/2 tsp kosher salt
  • 1/4 tsp freshly ground black pepper
  • 2 TBSP chopped fresh parsley (I like flat-leaf Italian parsley)

Puree both cans of tomatoes in a blender and transfer to a bowl.

tomatoes in blender

Peel, seed and chop the cucumber.

seed and cut cucumber

Chop the yellow pepper.

cut pepper half

Mince the onion.

mince onion

Zest the lemon.

lemon zest

Stir them into the tomatoes, cover and chill for at least 25 minutes, or up to overnight.

all veggies in

Just before serving, season with parsley, salt and pepper.

add parsley salt pepper

Ladle into serving dishes, I used juice glasses my Mom bought for me in Mexico–perfect!

yum1

So, so yummy!  So much flavor and NO FAT!!!  Perfectly spiced, wonderfully chilled.  JUST the soup for a hot summer day!

yum2

2 Comments

Filed under dairy-free, Garden produce, lunch, recipe, Vegetarian

2 responses to “Gazpacho: The Perfect Summer Soup!

  1. Thank you Heidi! I have been looking for an easy, yummy gazpacho recipe and since I always trust your suggestions I will try this one first!

Leave a Reply

