Broccoli Rice Cups

The other day, a friend posted a recipe for broccoli rice cups on her Facebook timeline.  They involved cheese and eggs, which reminded me of the tofu mixture in a recent gratin recipe.  Could I somehow combine the two ideas and come up with Somethin’ Yummy?!  I tried it out on my usual test subjects, and the verdict came in like this:  vegan hubby sez yummy, non-vegan son sez I’d like a couple for breakfast with an over-easy egg and some cheese.  I thought they were mighty fine.  Have a look:

broccoli rice cups

I could have eaten them all.  I didn’t take a bunch of pictures like usual, but wanted to share this idea, because now I’m thinking of all sorts of “cups,” as individually portioned breakfasts and side dishes.  Let’s brainstorm those in a bit.  First, here’s how it all started today.

I made rice before I went to work today–1 cup brown rice, 2 cups water; boil and simmer covered 50 minutes.  When I got home, I cut up a “head” of broccoli, mainly the floret part, and steamed it for 5 minutes.  A head in this case was the amount packaged together by the grocery store.  I set my oven to 350F, and sprayed a 12-cup muffin pan with cooking spray.

Then, I made the tofu mixture from the Potato, Spinach and Summer Squash recipe, adding enough non-dairy milk to make it somewhat pourable–1/2-3/4 cup total.  I mixed the steamed broccoli, cooked rice and tofu mixture together, divided it evenly into the muffin pan, and discovered I needed room for a couple more.  I sprayed a couple cups in a second pan, filled them with my remaining mixture and popped ’em in the oven for 35 minutes.

Ta-Da!  I was lucky enough to have a couple ripe tomatoes in the garden today and sliced a few for the tops, along with a fresh basil leaf.  Perfect flavor combination! The baked cups lifted cleanly out of the pan without needing to cool at all.  I thought they needed a bit of salt and pepper after the first taste; an easy fix.

broccoli rice cups

So what do you think?  I have a vegan chorizo that’s just screaming to be a part of a breakfast cup, along with some green onion and green pepper?  How about turning the potato squash gratin into little cups?  Asparagus!  Black beans and chorizo!  Potato, green pepper, red onion and mushroom!  How about cooked macaroni and frozen peas to make little mac and “cheese” cups–maybe with a few bread crumbs baked on top!  What flavors will you try?

 

Leave a comment

Filed under comfort food, dairy-free, dinner, Garden produce, lunch, Potluck, recipe, side dish, snack, Vegetarian

Leave a Reply

