A Sandwich Named Lexi

My college-student son shared his favorite coffee shop, Margie’s Blue Mug, with us on one of our visits.  Besides coffee, Margie’s offers a variety of breakfast and lunch items.  One of those is my new favorite sandwich; the only sandwich I want to eat right now: The Lexi.

yum1

 

I get it vegetarian/vegan, without the cream cheese and sliced turkey it usually comes with.  My son says it’s spectacular with those things, so if you’re not vegan, I’m sure he’d recommend you add those in to the somewhat quirky ingredients:

the stuff

For one sandwich

  • 1 whole wheat bagel (or bagel of your choice)
  • 1-2 TBSP prepared basil pesto (get or make pesto without Parmesan to be vegan)
  • 1-2 TBSP apricot jam (I used peach today)
  • sliced tomatoes (I used 4 slices from a roma tomato)
  • sliced red onion (I used one thin slice, separated into rings)
  • lettuce (Margie’s uses a greens mix, I had romaine)

Spread pesto on one side of the bagel, and jam on the other.  YES!  This is the quirky part, but what a combo!  These two condiments MAKE the sandwich.  They’re what make me want to make a Lexi for every meal.  Even breakfast.

spread jam and pesto

Put the lettuce, onion and tomato on the bottom half, top it with the lid of the bagel and there you are!  The Lexi!

yum3

WARNING– this sandwich disappears in a hurry.  One second you have a whole bagel sandwich, the next second you have a plate with a crumb or two on it.  Yup.  It’s THAT yummy.

 

3 Comments

Filed under comfort food, dairy-free, Garden produce, lunch, recipe, restaurants, Vegetarian

3 responses to “A Sandwich Named Lexi

  1. Pingback: Leftover Turkey-Palooza! | Somethin' Yummy

  2. Kay

    As a Greeley-raised UNC student, I was so thrilled to see Margie’s get a little time in the spotlight! There was definitely a point in time where 75% of my meals involved a Lexi, too. 😉

    • I LOVE Margie’s! If I lived in Greeley, I’d be there every day. Great coffee, great food, and super great people. The Lexi is my adult PB&J. Love it, love it, love it! Glad to hear from another Bear–I got my master’s there and my son is a music major. Thanks for stopping by Somethin’ Yummy! 🙂

Leave a Reply

