Roasted Cauliflower and Purple Potato Curry

Mr18 is home from college on spring break.  However, he hasn’t had a part in Michael and my decision to eat vegan.  When he’s home I usually cook his favorite meals for him–most of which involve meat, cheese and eggs.  I did buy him eggs for the omelets he loves in the morning, and treated him to his favorite meat-layered pizza.  The rest of the time he’s been eating vegan with us.  He’s always been a kid who ate his veggies and has always been game to try a bite of something new.  I’ve stayed away from anything with beans (Mr18’s kryptonite), and I’ve tried to stay with flavors he likes; curry is one of his favs.  He did miss the chicken that was included in the curry I used to make, but decided this curry was ok.  Since I’ve been having a bit of a love-fest with cauliflower lately, I replaced the chicken with cauliflower.  I thought the combo of the sweet roasted cauliflower was perfect with the savory spiciness of the curry.  Yummy!

yum2

Once you’ve roasted the veggies, this curry comes together quickly.

ingredients

  • 1 head cauliflower, chopped into bite-sized pieces
  • 1 apple, peeled and chopped
  • 1 onion, diced
  • 2-3 purple potatoes, peeled and cubed  (I picked purple because of the color, but red or yellow potatoes would be yummy, too)
  • 2 TBSP flour
  • 3-4 TBSP veggie broth
  • 1-2 TBSP curry powder
  • a pinch or two red pepper flakes
  • 2 cups veggie broth
  • 1/2-1 1/2 cup non-dairy milk (coconut milk would be yummy)
  • pasta of your choice, prepared according to package directions (optional)
  • toppings of your choice–I have coconut, cilantro, cashews, and edamame

Preheat oven to 425F.  Prepare a baking sheet with a silicon mat, parchment paper or spray oil.

Chop the cauliflower, potatoes, apple and onion.  Spread them in a single layer on the prepared baking sheet, and spray lightly with cooking spray.  Season with salt and pepper and mix with your hands.  Spray lightly once more and bake for 15 minutes.  Remove from oven and stir, then place back into the oven for an additional 15 minutes.

chop potatos cauliflower onion

While the veggies roast, prepare your pasta and the curry sauce.

Place 3 TBSP veggie both in a large pan over medium heat.  Whisk in 2 TBSP flour to create a paste.  Add more broth if your paste is too thick.

make paste w flour and broth

Add the curry and red pepper flake, stir to combine.

add curry and red pepper

Whisk in 2 cups of veggie broth until smooth.  Heat to a simmer to thicken.

add broth

Add 1/2-1 1/2 cups non dairy milk, depending on how you like the flavor and thickness.  I ended up using 1 1/2 cups, to tone down the heat from adding a bit too much red pepper.  🙂

add milk

Remove veggies from the oven, and add the roasted veggies, stirring to coat.

roasted2

add veg1

Add the cooked pasta and toss.

add pasta

Serve with toppings!  Other topping to consider: golden raisins, peas, peanuts, more red pepper flake, chile oil…..  I was thinking I’d use peas, but when I looked in my freezer, the bag I thought was peas was actually edamame.  Not as sweet, but a nice punch of protein.  I love recipes that let me adjust them according to what I have on hand.

yum1

Curry is also a lovely flavor with shrimp or chicken.  It can be served over a starch such as the pasta I chose, or rice or another cooked grain.  It can also be served without the added starch or thinned out with more broth as a soup.  Make it according to your personal tastes and whatever’s in your pantry.  Enjoy!

bite1

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under comfort food, dairy-free, dinner, Garden produce, lunch, recipe, Vegetarian

Leave a Reply

