Sweet-Tooth Saturday: Happy Chocolate Chip Cookies

This recipe comes from The Happy Herbivore Cookbook; a cookbook full of yummy, low-fat, vegan recipes.  So,  I’m calling them Happy partly because of that, and partly for the Happy that appeared in my kitchen when these little yummies came out of the oven and found themselves on a plate with a glass of (non-dairy) milk.  And finally, the Happy that radiated through me as I enjoyed my first soft, melty bite.milk and cookies

These amounts make a nice small batch (16-20 cookies) that you can whip up in no time.

ingredients

  • 1/3 cup unsweetened applesauce
  • 1/2 cup light brown sugar
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1/4 cup non-dairy milk
  • 1 cup whole wheat flour (I used white whole wheat flour!  Recently discovered it at my regular grocery store.)
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 TBSP cornstarch
  • a few dashes of cinnamon  (My applesauce had cinnamon in it, so I didn’t add more.)
  • 1/2 cup vegan chocolate chips  (Find these at a natural foods market.)

Preheat oven to 350F.  Line a cookie sheet with parchment paper or a silicon mat, or grease it.

In  large bowl, combine the sugar, applesauce, vanilla and non-dairy milk.

combine wet ingredients

In a small bowl, whisk together the flour, baking powder, salt, cornstarch and cinnamon (if using).

combine dry ingredients

Add the dry mix to the wet mixture in 2-3 batches.  Stir until almost combined.

mix dry into wet

Fold in the chips.

fold in chips

Drop by tablespoon-fulls onto the prepared cookie sheet.  Bake for 8-10 minutes for soft cookies, a bit longer for crispy ones (being careful to not burn them!).  I opted for soft.

place on prepared sheets

Cool on pans for a few minutes and then transfer to racks to cool completely.

cool on racks

Of course, here is where you want to eat one.  OK, maybe two.  Did I actually eat more than that?  Maybe….

yum

The Happy Herbivore herself warned these are addictive fresh from the oven.  Um….yup.  I’m making a double batch next time!

dunking

I decided to photograph them with a glass of milk (flax milk), so I couldn’t help but have the milk with a few cookies.  I was instantly transported back to my childhood, having milk and cookies for an after-school snack.  Yummy.  Happy.

2 Comments

Filed under comfort food, dairy-free, dessert, food gifts, recipe, snack

2 responses to “Sweet-Tooth Saturday: Happy Chocolate Chip Cookies

  1. Mmmmmmm, they look like divine cookies 🙂

Leave a Reply

