Vegan Cheesy Sauce

I’m vegan for health reasons, and mostly I have no cravings from my former way of eating.  But sometimes, sometimes I want cheese on something.  I want that melty smoothness that can bring the other flavors in a dish all together.  Take for instance, one of my fall and winter favs: Stuffed Squash.  To make it low fat, I sprayed the cut edges of the squash with cooking spray rather than using butter.  I think it’d be OK without cheese, but I found this cool recipe in my current go-to cookbook, The Happy Herbivore.  A melty smooth cheesy sauce with no dairy at all.  How yummy and cheesy-licious does this sauce look on my stuffed squash?  What about flavor?  Not cheese exactly, but yummy and satisfying in a cheesy sort of way.

yum1

I had all the ingredients on hand (Hurray!)

ingredients

  • 1 1/4 cup non-dairy milk  (I used unsweetened almond milk.)
  • 1/2 cup nutritional yeast  (Find in the bulk food area of a health food market.)
  • 2 TBSP yellow miso  (I had white miso.  Find this near the dairy section.)
  • 2 TBSP cornstarch
  • 1 tsp granulated onion powder
  • 1 tsp granulated garlic powder
  • 1/2 tsp paprika  (Smoked paprika would give you a smoky cheese sauce–mmmm!)
  • 1/4 tsp turmeric

This is so quick and easy you’ll have cheese sauce in no time!  Place all ingredients in a small pan over medium heat.

all in the pan

Whisk and bring to a boil.  Reduce heat to low and stir frequently until it thickens.

whisk together

Spoon over whatever you want; this yummy stuffed squash, perhaps.  This is the place in the recipe where the squash get stuffed, cheesed, and then baked for an additional 15 minutes.

spoon over filling

The sauce browns and I added a bit more before topping with a bit of cilantro–excellent flavor addition!

yum2

One of the most fun things about being vegan after being not vegan for over 50 years, is experimenting with new ingredients and recipes.  I don’t feel like I’m on a “diet” because the food is sooo satisfying.

yum3

Usually diets make me feel like I’m being punished.  Being vegan makes me feel pampered, happy and healthy.  I highly recommend vegan food, even for just a couple of days a week.  Really!  Yummy!!!

1 Comment

Filed under Books, comfort food, dairy-free, dinner, Garden produce, recipe, Vegetarian

One response to “Vegan Cheesy Sauce

  1. Pingback: Vegan Enchiladas | Somethin' Yummy

Leave a Reply

