Mushroom Swiss Burgers and Steak Fries

Football.  Playoffs.  Michael in the mood for burgers.  Get in the car and head out on a 30-minute one-way drive to Red Robin for take-out?  I think not!  I’m sure I can make a gourmet-esque-ish sort of burger, can’t I?  Sure I can!

What I can’t do is show you all the pictures I took.  My cell phone ate them.  Sounds like a homework excuse, huh?  Moving on anyway–I’m confident I can talk you through this easy-peasy gourmet burger and fries without as many pics as usual.

For the steak fries:

  • 1 tsp sweet paprika
  • 1 tsp kosher salt
  • 1/2 tsp garlic powder
  • 1/2 tsp pepper
  • 4 medium potatoes
  • 2 TBSP olive oil

Preheat oven to 375F.  Slice potatoes in half long ways, and then into wedges–5 or 6 wedges per half.

Mix paprika, salt, garlic powder and pepper together.  Place potatoes in a roasting pan lined with parchment paper, drizzle with olive oil and season with spice mix.  Toss to evenly coat with your hands. Bake for 30 minutes, stirring after 15 minutes, until fork tender and starting to crisp.

While your fries are baking, make your burger flavor-y and moist by adding a few things.  For every pound and a half of burger, gently mix in:

  • 1 tsp grill seasoning (or salt/pepper combo)
  • 1 TBSP worcestershire sauce
  • 1/4 cup chopped and sauted onion

Finely chop and saute the onion until translucent. 

Gently work grill seasoning, worcestershire sauce and onions into the burger, just until combined.  Over-working the raw meat will make your burgers tough.  Use your hands, making sure to wash before and after handling raw meat.  Form 4 burgers, gently shaping them with the centers thinner than the edges–this will make the burgers stay flat instead of puffing up in the middle.  Pan fry or grill to desired done-ness.  4-5 minutes per side for medium.

Clean and slice 6-8 mushrooms.

Melt 3 TBSP butter over medium heat and saute 3 cloves minced garlic until just  starting to turn golden.

Add mushrooms and saute until tender.  Deglaze with a splash of dry white wine.  Cook for an additional 2 minutes.

In the last 3 minutes of cooking the burgers, top with mushrooms.

And then top with a slice of swiss cheese.

Place a foil tent over the burgers to help the cheese get melty.

Starting to melt!

Spread buns with dijon mustard, place burger between, serve with steak fries!

Yum!  Remember that splash of wine needed to deglaze the mushrooms?  The big bonus of not running for take-out, aside from not going out in the cold? Being able to sip on that wine while cooking.  Nice.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

slideshow

3 Comments

Filed under dinner, lunch, recipe, side dish

3 responses to “Mushroom Swiss Burgers and Steak Fries

  1. Pingback: Leftovers (Fajita, Potato, Mushroom) Quiche | Somethin' Yummy

  2. Girl, my doctor told me to lay off the cheese because of my inherited cholesterol issue. The single cheese I miss the MOST is Swiss cheese. But now I think I need to treat myself to a little something yummy! My mouth is watering right now!

    • A slice of Swiss can’t possibly have as much cholesterol as other cheese can it? I mean the holes are places where cholesterol can’t be, right?! 😉 Please don’t put yourself in danger with any of my recipes, Nerima. Stay healthy so we can party when you retire!

Leave a Reply

