Western Colorado Cheese Steak

Isn’t it wonderful when an idea comes together?  Last summer I pickled some peppers from my garden.  Corno di Toros–meaning horn of the bull, as these peppers curl as they grow and are reminisant of bulls’ horns.  I planted them because they are heirlooms, and I am a total sucker for heirloom plants of any kind.  Anyway, everything I read about them indicated they were a mild sweet pepper.  I commenced my pickling and thought, “hmmmmm…these smell kinda hot.”  I took a small bite.  HOT!  Wow.  I continued pickling them and thought about how I might use them this winter; some way to bring a bit of summer garden into the grey days of winter.  Some sort of cheese steak? Like a panini?  Totally forgot about the pickled peppers, until dear friends gave us Wild Onion Salsa for Christmas.  And then today, flat iron steaks were on sale at the grocery store!  Ta-Da!  The premire of the Western Colorado Cheese Steak!

Feel free to adjust ingredients according to what you can find, of course.

  • 1 small flat steak, like a skirt steak or a flat iron, grilled medium-rare
  • cheese; I used swiss
  • dijon mustard
  • your favorite bread; this is a semolina batard
  • pickled hot peppers
  • onion salsa; not hot, kinda sweet, actually.

Grill the steak medium-rare.  Often these flat steaks get tough if you grill them all the way to medium.  Let the steak rest while you get other ingredients ready.  After at least five minutes, cut against the grain into thin slices.

Preheat a panini press or contact grill.  I have a contact grill my mom insisted I needed…..she was right!

Cut bread into slices.  I cut on the diagonal to get larger slices.  Spread each slice with mustard.  Then layer on cheese slices, thin slices of steak, then peppers, then onion salsa.  lay more cheese on the other bread slice, then more cheese then the top bread slice.

Grill the sandwiches until the cheese is melty and everything is heated through, 5-10 minutes.Cut in half and devour!  Look at all those yummy layers!

I really loved the grilled combo of sweet onion, briney hot peppers, savory steak and melty cheese.  It would have been even more yummy if it were snowing, the summer garden contrast with the snow would have been perfect!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

slideshow

2 Comments

Filed under Canning and preserving, dinner, Garden produce, lunch, recipe

2 responses to “Western Colorado Cheese Steak

  1. Pingback: Twice-Baked Sweet Taters | Somethin' Yummy

  2. Pingback: Quick and Easy Fajitas | Somethin' Yummy

Leave a Reply

