Curry in a Hurry

Last week before we left on vacation, I wanted to make somethin’ yummy that would be quick, wouldn’t require a trip to the grocery store, and could be adjusted to make just enough for the two of us.  After snooping around through my freezer, pantry and cellar, I realized I had ingredients for a basic curry!

A curry is technically a spice blend, often handed down from cook to cook, and used to flavor a sauce.  I have curry powder in my spice cabinet, so I’ll be using the spice recipe handed down from the good folks at the spice company!  🙂

The usual spice blend is golden in color; a combination of cumin, coriander and turmeric.  Many curried sauces have a combination of both sweet and savory ingredients–I love sweet mixed with savory–yum!  Some have meat, others don’t.  Some are thick, some soup-like.  Most are served with a starch of some sort and a variety of toppings or stir-ins. 

Here we go for a quick (in about 30 minutes), easy, basic and yummy curry to get your creativity started:

To serve 4-6:

  • 2 small onions, peeled and chopped
  • 2 small apples, peeled and chopped
  • 4 TBSP butter
  • 4 TBSP flour
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 2-4 TBSP curry powder
  • 1/4 tsp red pepper flake (or more if you prefer!)
  • 2-3 cups chicken broth
  • 1/2 cup half and half (coconut milk could be added instead…mmmm!)
  • 1 pound cooked, shredded meat–I’m using chicken, but I think pork would be awesome!
  • cooked starch–pasta, noodles, rice….
  • shredded coconut for a topper

Cook your starch according to package directions.  Tonight I chose spaghetti, because it was quick.

Saute chopped apples and onions in butter.

Add salt, pepper and flour.  Cook for a minute or two, stirring.  This will create a roux, or thickening agent for the sauce.

Add curry and red pepper flake, stir to combine.

Add chicken broth (I was out, but had those little cubes and dissoved them in water.)  Stir to combine, add half and half, and bring to a boil to thicken.

Add cooked, shredded meat.

Add starch and toss to combine.  Or, if you want, serve the sauce over your starch.

Top with a bit of coconut and enjoy!

I realized too late that I had macadamia nuts from our trip.  I’m thinking chopped, salted mac nuts would be another great topper.  I was also thinking adding frozen peas, chopped scallions and or cilantro to the sauce would add a  nice fresh, green flavor.  Some people like golden raisins in their curry….and chopped peanuts….what do you like?

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a comment

Filed under comfort food, dinner, Potluck, recipe

Leave a Reply

