Slow Cooker Posole

In the October 16, 2011 Fall Home Improvement section of our local paper, The Daily Sentinel, a page heading caught my eye: Miracle in a Slow Cooker.  Sentinel columnist, Penny Stine provided two recipes that have minimal prep involved–an important condition when trying to throw stuff in the crockpot while cooking breakfast and getting ready for work. 

I’m a big fan of posole.  I’ve had authentic versions created by masters of Mexican cuisine, and let me tell ya–this easy-peasy version rivals those.  Yesterday, I got a half pork-shoulder out of the freezer, and last night I set out the other ingredients.  This morning, I got the posole together, cooked and ate breakfast and enjoyed a cup of coffee–all within 30 minutes.  If I had chopped the onions and garlic last night, that time would be even shorter!

When I got home from work today, the lovely red chili aroma welcomed me at the door.  The pork was fall-apart-tender.  Dinner was ready as soon as I assembled garnishes, bowls and spoons.  Perfect.

An amazing soup with just a few simple ingredients–most of which come from cans!

  • 1 pork shoulder  (My slow cooker is not large enough for a whole shoulder.  I buy the pork, cut it in half and freeze it)
  • 2-3 cloves garlic, chopped (I love garlic–used 4 cloves!)
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 1 large or 2 regular cans hominy (Yellow or white, your choice.  I like how yellow looks with the red sauce.)
  • 2 15-ounce cans of any combination of: chopped tomatoes, Rotel tomatoes, tomatillos, red chile sauce  (I used chopped tomatoes, and a jar of red chile sauce–I think the red sauce gives a more authentic flavor to the posole.)
  • 1 can chopped green chiles
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • 1 tsp cumin

Garnishes:

  • cilantro
  • avocado
  • cheese
  • sour cream
  • chopped green onions
  • squeeze of lime

Chop the onion and garlic.  Place the pork roast in the slow cooker.  Add everything else.  Cook on low for 8-10 hours.  (Uber-easy, right?!)

I gave it a stir before I left for work.  When you get home, lift out the pork and shred it using two forks.

Return the shredded pork to the cooker.  Prepare any garnishes you wish to use.

Ladle into generous soup bowls, top with your favorite garnishes and get ready for the yum.

So, so flavor-y and satisfying.  In my opinion, a perfect fall soup.  A soup that essentially makes itself, and in that way lets me pretend that someone (like my mom) made dinner for me!  How lovely to come home from work and have dinner already there.  Perfect. 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a comment

Filed under comfort food, crock pot, dinner, Potluck, recipe

Leave a Reply

