Sweet-Tooth Saturday: Double Chocolate Oatmeal Zucchini Cookies

What possessed me to designate Saturday for sweets?!  Lately, Saturdays have been way to busy to blog.  My excuse this week?  Jazz Aspen Snowmass!  Yup, got to see Ryan Bingham and the Dead Horses, Rodrigo y Gabriela and Steely Dan in this glorious locale:

So, being a long weekend, perhaps we have two Saturdays, today being the second of them.  🙂 

Last week , my friend Judith had a birthday AND agreed to work the afternoon of her birthday so I could get to a meeting at Mr17’s school.  I just had to do something nice for her, right?  As always, I was also looking for ways to use up zucchini.  The two motivations came together in this lovely, gooey, cakey cookie full of chocolatey yumminess!  (For some reason, the link-y thingie in my editor is not working, so here’s the link to the original recipe, old-school-style: http://www.crazyforcrust.com/2011/08/chocolate-oatmeal-zucchini-cookies.html)

I decided to go for greatness by adding chocolate chips to this already yummy recipe.  Unfortunately, I’ve lost the picture of the ingredients.  This pic of the final product will have to do:

Oh, yeah, now that’s the ticket!  You’ll need:

  • 1/2 cup butter, softened
  • 1/4 cup vegetable oil
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 cup flour
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 cup cocoa
  • 3 cups rolled oats (The original recipe calls for quick oats, I used old-fashioned oats.  Quick oats provide a better texture, old-fashioned give a more no-bake cookie texture.)
  • 1 cup shredded zucchini
  • 1 cup chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 350F.  Line two cookie sheets with parchment paper or silpats.

Whisk together flour, cocoa, soda, salt, cinnamon.  Set aside.

In a stand mixer with a paddle blade (or electric mixer), cream sugars and butter and oil.

Add egg and vanilla.  Beat until thoroughly combined.

Add dry ingredients, a bit at a time to the wet.  Scrape down sides of bowl as needed.

Add oats and beat until evenly distributed.

Finally add zucchini and chocolate chips.

Drop onto cookie sheets.  I used a 1 TBSP cookie scoop, because that’s what I own; original recipe used a 2 TBSP scoop. 

 Bake for 10-11 minutes (Longer if  you used a bigger scoop–up to 14 minutes for a 2 TBSP scoop), until center of cookie no longer looks wet.  Cool on pans 10 minutes before removing.

Using the small scoop, I got nearly 5 dozen perfectly sized bites of chewy, gooey chocolate zucchini nirvana.

Unfortunately, I just can’t get enough of these cookies. One leads to another–they’re small, y’know?  And then another–really, if I used a bigger scoop those two cookies would have been the equivalent of only one…. and so on….

Right after I made these, I was watching Food Network and Anne Burrell made oatmeal cookies and sprinkled a bit of sea salt on top before they baked.  I LOVE salted chocolate, so next time I bake these, I’m so doing the salt-sprinkle thing!  Mmmm-mmmm-mmmm-yummy!!!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

1 Comment

Filed under comfort food, dessert, Garden produce, recipe, Uncategorized

One response to “Sweet-Tooth Saturday: Double Chocolate Oatmeal Zucchini Cookies

  1. I just tried this recipe with sea salt sprinkled on the cookies before they bake. Uber-Yummy! The salt is the perfect foil to the sweet and intensifies the chocolate flavor. Yup. Give it a try! 🙂

Leave a Reply

