Zucchini Salad

Yup.  Another zucchini recipe.  If you garden and plant this very productive squash you’re probably thankful for another way to use it, possibly even excited!  If you don’t garden you might not understand the excitement, but you will love, love, love this salad: 

My favorite food blog (besides this one!) is A Full Measure of Happiness, written by a fabulous chica with food tastes very similar to my own.  ( I highly recommend you visit and subscribe!)  She posted this recipe for Grilled Zucchini Ribbon Salad and I knew I had to try it.  Being out of propane for the grill, I tweaked it a bit to make it work for the moment, but I think the ribbons are so beautiful, I plan to make it that way soon!  Mine turned out rather pretty and was uber-yummy!

  • 1 zucchini and 1 yellow squash (or 2 zucchini), cut into quarter moons
  • handful of parsley, chopped (about 1/4 cup)
  • 1/4 cup pecans, chopped and toasted (Lauren used walnuts.  I think pine nuts would be yummy as well!)
  • 1-2 tsp olive oil
  • 1 tsp lemon juice
  • 1/4 tsp red pepper flakes
  • 2 tsp grated parmesan cheese
  • sprinkle of garlic powder (or 1/2 clove, minced)
  • salt and pepper to taste

Toast the pecans in a dry skillet, stirring occasionally, until you start to smell them.  Remove from heat and set aside for the moment.

Saute squash in half of the olive oil until tender and browned just a bit.

Add the rest of the olive oil and lemon juice, stir to coat, and place in a bowl.

Add garlic, red pepper flakes and parmesan cheese. Toss together.

Add parsley and pecans.  Season with salt and pepper. 

Toss together to evenly distribute all ingredients.  Look at the pretty salad you just created!

Serve as a side dish or as a luncheon salad.  It is equally delicious warm, room temperature or cold, and is now one of my favorite ways to eat zucchini!  Yummy!  I used a couple small to medium sized squash, but you could make use of the big ones that get away from you if you seed them first. 

The leftovers held their texture well, so I’m thinking this would be an excellent potluck, picnic or camping cook-out sort of salad!  Yup, I could see sitting around the campfire enjoying a nice serving along with a glass of crisp and cold white wine….how ’bout you?!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

2 Comments

Filed under Garden produce, Potluck, recipe, salad, side dish, Vegetarian

2 responses to “Zucchini Salad

  1. thanks for the shout-out! I completely forgot about this salad…and must revisit it now that I always have piles of zucchini in the fridge 🙂 and I can also see myself enjoying it with a glass of wine around a campfire…our tastes are similar in more than just food 😉

Leave a Reply

