Roasted Garden Veggie Burritos

My garden is being very, very good to me!  It is providing me with all the fresh produce I need, which provides me with a lot of healthy options for meals.  I really enjoy the vegetarian burritos I’ve had at Mexican restaurants, so with all of my beautiful, fresh veggies, why not make them myself?  Have a look–doesn’t this look yummy?

Mmmmmm….so flavor-y and satisfying you won’t miss the meat!  Run out to your garden or farmer’s market or produce section and see what will be in YOUR burritos.  Here’s what I found in my garden, along with a few items from the pantry and fridge.

For the burritos:

  • 1 medium zucchini
  • 1 yellow summer squash
  • 3 bell peppers
  • 3 small onions–these are large bunching onions
  • 1-2 TBSP olive oil
  • salt, pepper, red pepper flakes
  • 1 cup of uncooked rice
  • cheese of your choice, shredded
  • tortillas–the filling made enough for 8 burritos with the medium-sized tortillas I used
  • 1 can beans of your choice–I had pinto beans in my pantry

For the fresh salsa:

  • 3 tomatoes
  • 2 small jalepenos
  • 1 green chili
  • 1 bell pepper
  • 1 small onion
  • 2 cloves garlic
  • salt, pepper, lime juice
  • cilantro if you like it or have it–mine has gone to seed, I’ll have more in the fall when the seeds sprout!

Preheat oven to 375.  Or, preheat your grill and grill the veggies!  Yum!

Cook rice according to package directions.

Chop burrito veggies into 1/2 to 1 inch pieces.  Place in a bowl and toss with 1-2 TBSP olive oil, salt, pepper and a pinch of red pepper flakes, making sure all veggies are coated.

Place in a roasting pan in the oven.  Roast, stirring occasionally, until tender and starting to brown–about 20-30 minutes.

While veggies roast, make a fresh salsa.  Chop the salsa veggies into a small dice, (hot peppers smaller–I minced mine!) add to a bowl with pressed or finely minced garlic, salt, pepper and a splash of lime juice.

Stir until combined; find a chip or spoon to taste the salsa.  Adjust seasonings as needed.

Warm the beans and tortillas.  Assemble the ingredients and build your burritos!  I like to put the cheese between two hot layers to get it melty.

Michael added more hot sauce to his, Zach skipped the beans, I added a small dollop of sour cream.  How will you have yours?

So colorful!  So fresh!  So yummy!  (And great left-over the next day!!!)

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a comment

Filed under dinner, Garden produce, recipe, Vegetarian

Leave a Reply

