Sweet-Tooth Saturday: Summer Squash Orange Cake

My neighbors grind their own flour from whole grain wheat.  (How groovy is that?!)  They shared some recently, and I wanted to bake somethin’ yummy with it.  My squash have been doing what squash do, so I have a bounty of both zucchini and yellow summer squash–both perfect for adding moisture and nutrients to baked goods.  I came across a yummy-sounding recipe in one of my fav cookbooks for summer, The Victory Garden Cookbook, that would use both the flour and squash!

  • 3 cups flour–I used 2 cups unbleached, 1 cup freshly ground whole wheat!
  • 3 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tsp nutmeg
  • 1/4 tsp ground cloves
  • 1 cup butter, softened
  • 1 3/4 cup packed brown sugar
  • 2 tsp grated orange rind (1 orange)
  • 4 eggs
  • 1/3 cup orange juice (1 orange will provide more than enough)
  • 1 1/2 cups grated summer squash  (I have a horrible time guesstimating how much squash will grate into how many cups, so I put two in the picture.  I only needed the larger one.)

Preheat oven to 350F. 

Grease and flour a 10 inch tube pan. 

Sift dry ingredients together and set aside. 

Cream butter, sugar and orange rind.

Beat in eggs.  Slowly beat in the dry ingredients alternately with orange juice.

 

 

Stir in the squash, pour into the tube pan.  Bake 50-60 minutes.

 

Cool in the pan until you can handle it without oven mitts.  Invert over a plate and voila!

I had some glaze leftover from red velvet cupcakes I baked earlier in the day, so I smothered the warm cake with enough to drench down the sides.

By this time I couldn’t stand it any more…I cut a couple pieces of the warm cake.

Mmmmmmm!  Warm spiciness with a clean citrus-y finish.  The recipe states you can use either yellow squash or zucchini, and that you can frost it or sprinkle it with powdered sugar.  I love finding new recipes for summer squash!  This one’s a keeper!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a comment

Filed under dessert, Garden produce, recipe

Leave a Reply

