Mexican Lasagne

DH Michael and I both work for a greenhouse.  Today I had the day off, but he had to work.  In perennials.  Outside.  Did I mention it was a not-so-balmy 48 degrees and windy and rainy today?  Poor guy.  I figured he’d appreciate a warm dinner when he got home, and decided on one of his favorites–Mexican Lasagne.

Adapted from Rachel Ray’s recipe, this is quick, easy and yummy!  The original recipe has directions for a tomatillo sauce with avocado in it.  I always have my “world famous” tomatillo salsa on hand so I use that and have the avocado on the side.

I felt compelled to brighten a dreary day with sunny yellow iris from my garden–in my new turquoise vase!  I love how the colors look together, and I love how the vase holds just three blossoms.  Anyway…on with the ingredients:

  • 1 pound ground pork
  • 1-15 oz can hominy, drained  (I like yellow for the color.)
  • 5-6 flour tortillas
  • 1/2 to 3/4 pound grated cheese (I use 4-cheese Mexican blend.)
  • 1 pint tomatillo salsa
  • 1 1/2 tsp cumin
  • 1 1/2 tsp coriander
  • pepper to taste
  • 1 TBSP olive oil to brown the pork
  • avocado and tomato for garnish
  • sour cream if desired

Preheat oven to 400F.  Heat a skillet over medium heat.  Add oil, pork, cumin, coriander and pepper.  Brown and crumble.

Add hominy and heat through.  Keep warm.

Place some tomatillo salsa in the bottom of an 8×8 pan.

Place a tortilla in the pan and tear up another to fill the corners.

Spread more tomatillo salsa over the tortillas, then 1/3 of the pork mixture–use a slotted spoon to avoid excess oil.

Add a layer of cheese.  Continue the pattern until the pan is filled.

Bake 15-20 minutes or until cheese starts to brown and is bubbling.

Cut into portions and serve with avocado, tomato and sour cream.

So.  Was Michael a happy camper when this plate was served to him tonight?  Yeaaaaahhhhh!  Of course, he added additional hot sauce.  I enjoyed it just like this–all warm and cheesy and spicy.  Mmmmmmm….yummy!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a comment

Filed under dinner, Potluck, recipe

Leave a Reply

