Sweet-tooth Saturday: Chocolate Cheesecake Cups

I have a realtor friend who occasionally sends out recipes on a card that also reminds me to use her realty company.  One of them was for Chocolate Cheesecake Cups.  These little cheesecakes are impressively yummy and easy to make–in less than an hour.  I make them with fat-free or “lite” ingredients without any sacrifice in flavor or texture.  This recipe has been a real “go-to” for me when I want a special dessert.  Thanks to BFF Becky for reminding me of these little cheesecakes and suggesting them for Sweet-tooth Saturday!

Here we go! 

  • 10 Oreo cookies
  • 8 oz cream cheese  (I use fat-free)
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 1 cup sour cream  (I use lite)
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/4 tsp vanilla
  • 1/3 cup cocoa
  • 2 TBSP corn starch
  • 1/2 cup mini chocolate chips
  • 12 cupcake liners

Preheat oven to 325 F.  Line muffin tin with cupcake liners.

Break Oreos into a food processor or blender. 

 

Process until ground into crumbs.

Divide crumbs evenly among liners and press with a small glass–twist as you press to avoid the crumbs sticking to the bottom of the glass.  Set aside.

Place cream cheese and sugar in a bowl, cream together using an electric mixer.  (I just wiped out the bowl of my food processor and used it–only one bowl to clean!)

Add sour cream, eggs and vanilla.  Mix until combined and smooth.

Blend in cocoa and corn starch.

Spoon mixture evenly into the 12 crumb-bottomed liners.

Bake 25 minutes.  Remove from oven and top with chocolate chips while still hot.

At this point you may choose to carefully spread the melt-y chips into an even layer or leave them as they are.  I leave them–I like the look of the chips.  Wait until completely cool and enjoy.  Refrigerate any not consumed on the spot!

Be creative with the serving–I’ve plated with a strawberry.  Last time BFF Becky made them she served them with a dollop of whipped cream and a raspberry.  I think the recipe lends itself to variations–such as including espresso powder in with the cocoa, using a different flavor of sandwich cookie for the crust, using different flavors of chips for the top, using orange extract or mint or almond in place of the vanilla, toffee chips on top, pretzel crumbs on top…..or any combination (espresso powder with toffee chips?!)  You’re only limited by your imagination!  Yummy!

Chocolate Cheesecake Cups were invited to a Sweets Linky Party!  They’re #168, and part of some super yummy-looking sweet recipes!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

3 Comments

Filed under dessert, recipe

3 responses to “Sweet-tooth Saturday: Chocolate Cheesecake Cups

  1. Becky

    I Facebooked my version with the raspberry and whipped cream, attributing your blog, of course. One of my favorite desserts. http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=1478087370471&set=a.1128796798425.16681.1782378367&theater

  2. I can’t even imagine how delicious these must have been. What a great recipe. I have a sweet treat linky party going on at my blog and I’d like to invite you to stop by and link your cheesecake cups up. http://sweet-as-sugar-cookies.blogspot.com/2011/03/sweets-for-saturday-10.html

Leave a Reply

