Salmon with Brown Sugar and Mustard Glaze

I just got my new Everyday Food magazine.  My mom got me the subscription years ago, and I’ve become addicted to it and can’t seem to stop renewing it.  This month was full of stuff I’d cook, including this recipe for salmon.  I know we should eat more fish, but I tend to be full of excuses for not:  more expensive than chicken, I don’t know how to cook it to make it yummy, I don’t want my whole house smelling like a pier, blah, blah, blah.

So.  I read this recipe and it seemed really easy and sounded really yummy.  The gist of it is “make a sauce, brush it on the salmon and broil.”  I went off to the grocery to find a salmon.  I found a wide array of salmon, ranging from “fresh caught/color added” to frozen salmon halves to frozen salmon filets.  Color added?  Really?  No thanks.  Salmon is pretty enough on it’s own.  I selected a small salmon half, steeled my “I don’t know how to cook fish” nerves and put together the few things I needed for Salmon with Brown Sugar and Mustard Glaze:

  • 1 TBSP extra-virgin olive oil
  • 1 large shallot, minced  (The shallots I have from last year’s garden are smallish.  I decided 3 small=1 large.)
  • 1/4 cup red wine vinegar  (This is actually vinegar made by the wine maker at Reeder Mesa Winery from some of his yummy red wine and distributed to a few friends.  Uber-yummy wine vinegar!)
  • 1/4 cup whole-grain mustard
  • 1/4 cup packed brown sugar
  • course salt and pepper
  • 1 side salmon (about 3 pounds), skin removed, cut into 8 fillets.  (I’m lazy and left the skin on–I think it’s easier to remove when the salmon is cooked.  It will increase the cooking time a bit to leave the skin on.)
  • 1 lemon cut into wedges for serving

Heat broiler, with rack in top position. 

In a small saucepan, heat oil over medium-high heat.  Add shallot and cook, stirring often until softened, 3 minutes.

Add vinegar and cook until slightly evaporated, 1 minute.

Add mustard and brown sugar, stir until warm and combined, 1 minute.  Season with salt and pepper and remove from heat.

Place salmon on a foil-lined baking sheet and season with salt and pepper.  Transfer 1/2 cup glaze to a small dish and brush on top of salmon.

Broil salmon until glaze is bubbling and fish is opaque throughout, 5-10 minutes depending on thickness.  Brush remaining glaze over fillets, serve with a lemon wedge.

We also had steamed asparagus and mushroom risotto (tomorrow’s blog!), along with a glass of the same wine I used in the risotto.  I think serving the wine you cook with really compliments the food.  Yummy!

Everyday Food always includes nutritional info with its recipes.  Here’s the breakdown per serving: 298 cal, 13 g fat (2 g sat fat), 35 g protein, 12 g carb, 1 g fiber.

I’m feeling braver about fish, and my house does NOT smell like fisherman’s warf.  (Yay!)  I’m thinking fish tacos later this week.  I found a great deal on tilapia while shopping for salmon.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

1 Comment

Filed under dinner, recipe

One response to “Salmon with Brown Sugar and Mustard Glaze

  1. Pingback: Wine Glaze » Salmon with Brown Sugar and Mustard Glaze « Somethin' Yummy

Leave a Reply

