Cravin’ Corned Beef and Cabbage!

I got to work this morning wearin’ my green, including shamrock head-boppers, and a friend comes up and asks, “Who’s having corned beef and cabbage tonight?  I’ve got mine goin’ in the slow cooker.”  Just like that, a craving hit.  But what’s a girl to do if she didn’t think ahead of time about having a traditional St. Patty’s Day meal? 

As luck (of the Irish!) would have it, we had a cool, overcast day (47 today after a 74 degree yesterday!) that kept gardeners at home and I got to go home early!  I had time to stop by the store for last minute ingredients.  I gathered up the smallest corned beef brisket I could find and a small head of cabbage.  Super pleased with myself for scoring the answer to the craving, I had a moment of panic–I’d never made corned beef and cabbage…it was never on the menu growing up…what to do?

Of course, the answer just had to be in my Better Homes and Gardens Cookbook, right?  Right!  Page 239!  Yay!  Back on track, the rest of the ingredients were right there in the kitchen:

  • A 3-4 pound corned beef brisket  (Mine was 2 1/2, pre-packaged with a little spice packet.)
  • 1 head cabbage, cut into 6 wedges  (Leave the core intact to keep leaves together.)
  • 6 medium potatoes, peeled  (I cut mine in half to speed the cooking.)
  • 6 carrots, peeled  (I always have baby carrots in the fridge, thank goodness, ’cause I had no idea I needed them while at the store!)
  • small onion, chopped
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 bay leaves

Place corned beef in a dutch oven or large pot.  Add onion, garlic, and bay leaves.  (I also added the spice packet that was included with the corned beef.)  Barely cover with hot water, cover and bring to a boil.  Reduce heat to simmer, cook 1 hour per pound of brisket.

Remove meat from liquid.  Set aside and keep warm.  Add potatoes and carrots.  Return to a boil, cook 5 minutes.  Add cabbage and cook an additional 25 minutes. 

 

Slice corned beef, plate with potatoes, carrots and cabbage.  Pour yourself a stout beer and enjoy being Irish for the day!

You might have noticed a slice of bread on the plate as well.  Another craving struck while cruising Facebook as the brisket was cooking.  A friend posted that she had soda bread today!  Yup, I just had to make that too–recipe tomorrow!  It was the perfect hearty addition to soak up juices and use as a pusher to get those last little tidbits. 

I really enjoyed this plate of Irish comfort food on a rainy St. Patty’s night.  I mixed the cabbage in with the potatoes–yum!  Maybe I can find a place in my garden to plant cabbage…..hmmmmm.   I hope the luck of the Irish was with you today as well!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a comment

Filed under Books, dinner, recipe

Leave a Reply

