Pulled Pork Enchilada Bake

Today was my first day back at the greenhouse I work for–Mt. Garfield Greenhouse.  I love being back with friends and seeing all the plants and new goodies in the store.  I knew time would be shorter than in recent months for getting dinner on the table, so I decided to let my crock pot do part of the work for me.  I set it on low with the ingredients for Pork Carnitas before I left this morning, with the intention of making an enchilada bake.

This is sort of a cross between a lasagne and open-faced enchiladas.  DH was in heaven–especially since I decided a margarita might look nice in the final picture!  🙂

When I got home, I pulled the pork and gathered just a few other ingredients.

  • 1 1/2 pounds pulled pork
  • 9 corn tortillas  (I like the ones made with corn AND wheat flour.)
  • 8 oz grated cheese  (This is white cheddar, but jack or yellow cheddar would be yummy too.)
  • 1 pint green sauce  (This is my home-canned “Vaya con Verde,” the hot version of my famous tomatillo salsa, named by a FB friend–thanks again, Linda!)

Preheat your oven to 350 F.  Spray oil an enchilada sized pan–8″x12″.  Place two whole tortillas in the pan next to each other, tear up a third to fill in the spaces.

Next, spread a layer of the green sauce over the tortillas, using about 1/3 of the pint.

Layer the pork over the sauce, using 1/3 of it.

Now layer 1/3 of the grated cheese over the pork.

Continue layering–tortillas, sauce, pork, cheese–using the remaining ingredients to build 2 more complete layers; for a total of 3 layers, ending with cheese.  Bake 20-25 minutes, until cheese is browned and sauce is bubbly.

Cut into squares and serve!  I made beans, rice, a little topping salad of lettuce, green onions, tomato and cilantro to go with the enchilada bake.  I topped it with a dollop of plain yogurt (which I like as well as sour cream and can use for lots of other things besides!), and made margaritas on the rocks!  Yowza!

There ya go!  A fabulous meal on a work day in less than an hour–including everything on the plate plus margaritas!  I’d say there were 6 generous servings or 8 smaller ones from this.  I’m looking forward to leftovers for lunch!  Yummy!  Now if only the dishes fairy will show up to clean that crock pot while I finish my margarita….

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

4 Comments

Filed under crock pot, dinner, recipe

4 responses to “Pulled Pork Enchilada Bake

  1. Divided into 8ths…. About 9-10 pts per serving. Delicious.

  2. Pingback: Mama Celine’s Refried Beans « Somethin' Yummy

  3. Excellent blog post. I absolutely appreciate this site.

    Keep it up!

Leave a Reply

