Home Run Chicken and Broccoli Stromboli

“Wow!  That’s a home run!”  Quote from a happy DH on his way to the kitchen for seconds of this uber-yummy, uber-easy stromboli.  Making a stromboli is really learning a method–you could fill it with whatever sounds yummy at the moment, whatever’s in the fridge, whatever’s in the garden.  Stromboli is essentially a stuffed pizza or pizza roll.

Only 4 ingredients were listed on the original recipe, from this month’s Prevention magazine.  (I expanded on that just a bit.)  Prevention says this stromboli serves 4, with only 459 calories, including the marinara sauce you serve it with–230 calories less than take-out stromboli! 

The recipe calls for a rotisserie chicken.  I had a package of boneless, skinless thighs and cooked them using the Mistral’s Chicken recipe–I had half the chicken, so halved the recipe.  I smashed the cooked garlic into the sauce that happens with Mistral’s Chicken, and used it as a sauce for the stromboli.

  • one 11-oz package pre-made pizza dough  (I made my own!  Recipe in tomorrow’s blog!)
  • 1 cup broccoli florets, steamed
  • 1 1/2 cup pre-cooked chicken, diced
  • 1 cup white cheddar cheese, grated
  • 1/4 cup garlic sauce–optional  (My sauce came from the Mistral’s Chicken)

Heat oven to 400 degrees F.  Oil a baking sheet.

Stretch and/or roll pizza dough to form a 16″x12″ rectangle.

Place dough on an oiled baking sheet.

Spread sauce (if using) and sprinkle chicken lengthwise down the center of the dough.  Then broccoli, then cheese.

Fold both long sides over filling, and pinch ends and overlap to seal.  Cut 4 diagonal slashes to vent, coat with cooking spray and bake until browned–12 minutes.

Cut into pieces and serve with marinara sauce for dipping.

Can you say YUMMY?!  Really flavor-y–especially with the garlic sauce–without being heavy.  Even though Prevention says this serves 4, it served 2 of us tonight.  You could stretch it to 4 with a salad.  I’m totally making this again.  (That’ll make DH a happy camper!)  The pizza dough recipe I used made two dough balls, so I made TWO strombolis!  I put the second together while the first one baked.  We’ve got uber-yumminess for a second meal!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

3 Comments

Filed under dinner, recipe

3 responses to “Home Run Chicken and Broccoli Stromboli

  1. Carol

    Looks delicious! Love the versatility. Looking forward to pizza dough recipe tomorrow….

    • Already written–I’ll post it in the morning. 🙂 I also have another one written I’ll post before I leave–with other blogs to visit while I’m gone. Thought it might be rude to blog while visiting friends. 😉

  2. Pingback: You CAN Make Your Own Pizza Dough! « Somethin' Yummy

Leave a Reply

