Slow Cooker Zen: Thai Pork

Since I’ve been writing this blog, I’ve become a fan of quite a few other food blogs (check them out in my blogroll).  My favorite is “A Full Measure of Happiness”  written by Lauren Zietsman.  She is a food genius, amazing food photographer, and she has a cat who looks quite a lot like my cat!  Love her!  I subscribe to A Full Measure of Happiness, so every day I have somethin’ yummy in my email from her.  I HIGHLY recommend you go pay her blog a visit, and consider subscribing too.

So.  About a week ago, Lauren posted a recipe for Thai Chicken Soup that she makes in a crock pot.  Her images and descriptions had me drooling.  I flagged the email and wrote down the few things I needed from the grocery store.  While checking to see if I had chicken, the last third of a pork shoulder I had frozen waved at me.  Oooooo, pork!  The posting mentioned adding rice to leftover soup to stretch it.  I had just bought black “Forbidden Rice” the week before–OMG this was shaping up into EPIC yumminess!  Here’s my adaptation of Lauren’s recipe.

Make sure your grocery list includes the following:

  • A 2-3 pound pork shoulder or similar cut 
  • 2 cups chicken broth
  • 2 cups carrots, sliced on the diagonal 
  • 1 small yellow onion, chopped
  • 1 tsp ground ginger
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 TBSP Thai Herb and Spice Blend  (find it in the produce aisle)
  • sprinkle of red pepper flakes
  • 1 can light unsweetened coconut milk  (in the Asian foods aisle)
  • 1 bell pepper, diced  (color of your choice)
  • 1-2 TBSP Thai curry paste  (I used 1 TBSP of green curry paste)
  • 1 cup Forbidden Rice, cooked according to package directions
  • lime and cilantro for garnishing

Place pork roast in slow cooker along with chicken stock.

Chop onion and carrots, mince garlic.  Add to crock pot along with ginger, Thai Spice Blend and red pepper flakes.  Cook 4-5 hours on high or 8-10 hours on low.

Cook rice according to package directions.  Set aside.

Remove pork from crock pot and shred.  Return to crock pot.

Chop bell pepper and add to crock pot along with coconut milk and curry paste.  Cook an additional 15-20 minutes. 

Place 1/4-1/2 cup cooked Forbidden Rice in a bowl, over to one side.  Ladle in Thai Pork, garnish with chopped cilantro and a lime wedge. 

Squeeze the lime over the top, breathe in the exquisite fragrance, dip your spoon to take a bit of rice, a bit of soup, savor, become enlightened.  Lauren mentioned the flavor would have you begging for seconds.  Yes.  DH and I both had seconds!  Light.  Fragrant.  Delicate.  Perfect spice.  You won’t believe you made this in your crock pot!  So easy.  So yummy!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

3 Comments

Filed under crock pot, dinner, recipe

3 responses to “Slow Cooker Zen: Thai Pork

  1. You just completely made my day! Not only do I absolutely LOVE when people try out recipes that I posted, but even better when they tell me about it! Thanks for saying such sweet things I can’t wait to check out the rest of your blog 🙂

  2. Pingback: Rainbow Spring Rolls with Spicy Plum Sauce (Served with Thai Cauliflower Soup) | Somethin' Yummy

Leave a Reply

