You’ll Never Put Mc in Front of Your Egg Sandwich Again!

We call them egg sammiches.  This yummy breakfast idea came from my sister; she was the one who discovered that an English muffin fits perfectly in the bottom of a certain Tupperware container, and the microwaved egg muffin sandwich was born!  I’ve altered her recipe a bit to more closely match the “Scrambagel” served at a local bakery/coffee shop, Main Street Bagels.  This egg sammich is quick and easy enough to make for breakfast any day of the week!

Here’s what you’ll need:

For EACH sammich:

  • 2 eggs
  • 1 scallion, chopped  (optional–we’re a bunch of onion people, but you don’t need to be!)
  • a splash of milk–I never measure this–probably a tablespoon
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • two pieces of a bread something–we like bagels (these are jalepeno bagels–yum!), but English muffins or sandwich bread will work fine.
  • a handful of your favorite grated cheese–grated melts better
  • a bit of butter if you like butter on your bread  (I do!)
  • cooking spray
  • a microwave-safe bowl with a lid about the circumference of a bagel or English muffin

First, place your bread in a toaster.  Don’t pop it down just yet.  A little trick I use because it makes life easier for me, is to put the top of the bagel in the slot farthest from me, and the bottom in the slot closest to me.  This way, I can grab out the bottom first as I build my sammich.  

Next, spray the inside of the microwave-safe container.  [Note–this container has been used in the microwave A LOT, as evidenced by the sides that are truly clean, but look weird…..I bet you have plasticware just like this, so don’t get snarky with me, Missy!  😉  ]

Set the container aside for now and get another container/bowl/measuring cup and put in: eggs, milk, chopped scallion, salt and pepper.

Use a little whisk or a fork to beat the ingredients together just until combined.  Pour them into the sprayed container.

Pop your bread down now, and it will get done just a smidge before the eggs.

Place the lid on the container, and place it in the microwave.  Microwave on high for 2 minutes.  (You may need to adjust the time for your microwave.)

When the bread pops up, butter the bottom piece of and top it with cheese.

Take the eggs from the microwave and give the container a little side-to-side shake to loosen the eggs.  You could also use a knife along the side to loosen.  Your objective is to get the eggs out in one piece.  When the eggs are loosened, tip the container over to drop the eggs right on top of the cheese–easier than it sounds.  Put more cheese on top.

Butter the top piece of bread, place it on top of your sammich, cut it in half and serve!

Yummy!  I had some berries in the fridge, so I made a quick berry compote to go with my sammich: raspberries, blueberries and sliced strawberries with a bit of sugar and fresh lemon zest.  Mmmmmm!

This is how Mr16 and usually have our egg sammiches.  Although, I’ve added avocado slices when I have an avocado and that’s super-yummy.  DH likes his with salsa and hot sauce.  They are also good with a sausage patty or a bit of ham….try whatever you usually like with your eggs!

7 Comments

Filed under breakfast, recipe

7 responses to “You’ll Never Put Mc in Front of Your Egg Sandwich Again!

  1. Ingenius! once again I feel totally empowered to recreate a simple and satisfying meal that I never thought of before but know I’ll love

  2. This is Mr16’s favorite breakfast. I make them at 5:30am…while I’m not quite awake…this is why the toaster positioning of the bagel..I can practically make these in my sleep! 😉

  3. “I have simple tastes. I am simply satisfied with the best.” – Oscar Wilde

  4. Carol

    I made these this morning- with english muffins and egg substitute (extra quick!) … added a few thin slices of ham. Love the tip about MW in right sized cup- found one and it was perfect!

  5. Pingback: Chile, Cheese and Chorizo Biscuits « Somethin' Yummy

Leave a Reply

