The Magic 8 Ball of Cookery

Meet my Better Homes and Gardens New Cook Book, copyright 1976.  I have tons of cookbooks–newer cookbooks, snazzier cookbooks, “gourmet” cookbooks, but this is my favorite.  It’s the one I go to when I have a cooking question–it’s my Magic 8 Ball for cooking! 

The Better Homes and Gardens New Cook Book was once THE gift given to new brides.  It’s almost like having all the “women folk” in your family right there on the counter, ready to help you with whatever you’re cooking.

On the inside covers, there are charts for oven temperatures, thermometer readings for meats, weights and measures, emergency substitutions, and go-to recipes for white sauce and pastry.

It’s ring-bound with 18 tabbed sections, each with their own table of contents.  There is an index called “creative uses for leftovers”, a calorie tally, and a glossary of cooking terms.  Anytime I get stumped with a recipe, or can’t remember how long to waterbath something I’m canning, the BHG New Cook Book is the one I reach for first. 

My copy is water damaged and has food stains.  They make a trail to the yummy recipes I use most, like the “Oh Boy Waffles” in the Breads section.  (This is the waffle recipe I ruined by adding blueberries….oh boy!) 

“Sift together 2 1/4 cups all purpose flour, 4 tsp baking powder, 3/4 tsp salt, and 1 1/2 tablespoons of sugar.  Mix 2 beaten eggs, 2 1/4 cup milk, and 1/2 cup salad oil.  (I also add 1 tsp of vanilla)  Add all at once to dry ingredients, beating only until moistened.  Bake in preheated baker.  Makes 10-12.”

If you have a waffle iron, this is a perfect weekend breakfast.  (Just don’t add blueberries!)  Buy your own copy of this book when you get a chance and find out why Amazon’s review says, “Discover why every kitchen worth its salt has a flour-dusted, bouillon-stained, batter encrusted and whisk-maimed copy.”

2 Comments

Filed under Books, recipe

2 responses to “The Magic 8 Ball of Cookery

  1. Pingback: Somethin' Yummy

  2. Pingback: Cravin’ Corned Beef and Cabbage! « Somethin' Yummy

Leave a Reply

