Snap, Crackle, Pop, Sonia and Me

I’ll bet everyone can name the yummy bars on this plate.  You might even have a particular memory that goes along with them, like I do.

photo attribution

Rice Krispie Treats were created by Margaret Day in the 1920s as a fundraiser for Camp Fire Girls.  By the time I was born they were a classic.  Rice Krispies cereal was common in our house, either the brand name, or on tight weeks, the store brand version.  When my sister and I were little, Mom made them for us, and limited the number of treats we could have.  Here’s Sonia (standing) and me (braids), sometime around 1967 or so.  (One of the few pictures from this formal sitting where we were both smiling.)

Later as teenagers, we learned to make them for ourselves.  Dad got paid once a week, from his job as a printer, on Fridays.  Our family joined many of the weekly-paid families of that era at SuperValue after Dad came home from work.  Mom and Dad shopped for meals and necessities, Sonia and I made sure we had marshmallows and some sort of crisp rice cereal. 

 Later at home after dinner, Sonia and I made a pan of Rice Krispie Treats.  We let them set up for the bare minimum time, took them to the living room, turned on the TV, and plopped on our stomachs to watch.  The Brady Bunch (I really identified with Marsha–being the oldest, even though I was Jan’s age at the time) and The Partridge Family (so in love with David Cassidy!) were the two shows we always watched…..while consuming the ENTIRE pan of Rice Krispie Treats.

These days I still love Rice Krispie Treats, but I don’t think I could eat more than one without getting “sugared out.”  Still, I associate my buddies Snap, Crackle and Pop with somethin’ yummy!

photo attribution

Leave a comment

Filed under Food memories

Leave a Reply

