Zero-Calorie Yumminess

Most foodies I know are also readers, myself included.  Sometimes, I like to combine my reader-self with my foodie-self.  In doing so, I’ve come across a series of books too delicious to keep secret. 

Diane Mott Davidson is a Colorado author who has written a series of 14 mystery novels based on the life of fictional caterer/crime solver Goldie Shulz.  Goldie is a highly like-able self-employed caterer just getting over a messy divorce and living with her teenage son in a fictional town based on Evergreen, Colorado.  In the first book, Catering to Nobody, you find out that Goldie seems to have a habit of being in the wrong place at the wrong time; catering where dead bodies turn up.  Goldie is a problem-solver and decides to solve the crime, all the while keeping up with the catering she was hired for.  Mott Davidson includes the recipes Goldie prepares–within the text of the earlier books and in an addendum in later volumes, always indexed for easy reference!  I’ve prepared some of the recipes–they are YUMMY! 

I’ve read the first 11 of the Goldie books–each is as entertaining as the last.  I find I enjoy lurking in Goldie’s life, and want to see what happens next in the next book and the next book, as well as find new recipes.  I especially liked the recipe for “Doll Show Shrimp and Eggs” in The Grilling Season. Bottom line?  Reading about food is fat-free, calorie-free and YUMMY!  (The Doll Show Shrimp and Eggs?  Not so calorie/fat free….but oh so yummy!)

Doll Show Shrimp and Eggs

1 tsp Old Bay Seasoning

8 large frozen easy-peel shrimp

3 Tbsp butter

1/4 cup chopped leek, white part only

1/3 cup chopped fresh tomato, seeds and pulp removed

6 eggs, slightly beaten

salt and pepper

3 oz cream cheese, cut into 1/4 inch cubes

Bring a pint of water to boil and add the Old Bay Seasoning and the shrimp.  Cook the shrimp until they are just pink.  Do not overcook!  Drain and peel the shrimp and cut each one in half.  Melt the butter in a skillet, then add the leek and tomato.  Saute gently for about 5 minutes, until the leek is softened.  Pour the eggs into the leek-tomato mixture, season with salt and pepper, and cook over medium low heat, stirring occasionally to prevent browning, until eggs have almost congealed, but still have some liquid left.  Stir in the shrimp and cream cheese and continue cooking just until eggs are set but not overly firm.  (You want the shrimp to remain tender, the cheese to be melty, but not completely blended in.)

(adapted from The Grilling Season by Diane Mott Davidson)

(Note, my BFF and I made these for a holiday brunch for a group of our friends–perfect!)

3 Comments

Filed under Books, breakfast, recipe

3 responses to “Zero-Calorie Yumminess

  1. Lovin the new blog – I’ve read all the Goldie books (I love her BFF so much!) I enjoy trying some of her recipes (but not on a daily basis!!) Since I’ve lost so much weight (and I’m trying to keep it off) I’ve been trying out some of the recipes from Hungry Girl cookbooks – pretty good but sometimes a gal needs real buttah, ya know? LOL I’m puttin’ ya on my blogroll so I can keep up with ya – cya u-know-where! xo Linda

    • I must commend you for your self-discipline in losing so much weight! I totally know what you mean about buttah…and bacon….and ice cream…..oh my. I’ve got about 10-15 pounds to lose. The good news is that I’m on my computer so much these days that I’m not snacking so much AND all the Christmas candy is finally gone! Glad you like the blog; thanks for blogrolling me….I’ll be returning the favor! CYA Chica! ❤

    • Oh…PS….Wasn’t it Killer Pancake that had the low-cal recipes? I made the chicken curry from which ever one it was and it was YUMMY!!!

Leave a Reply

